NYC

Does NYC have fireflies?

Can I kiss you in the rain?

If I get their tomorrow,

I didn’t realize

It’d already been

Four months.

How have you been?

Where have I been?

In New York City

Is it beautiful?

Is she beautiful?

Metallic Steam

I’m in a hurry

Mazes buried underground

Moving at a much quicker pace

Than my bare feet.

It’s crowded in here

But you told me not to go

Please.

I can’t stay

You know I always leave

You,

Up in New York City

You’re getting skinny and wearing all

Black.

Capturing moments of the

Fabulous fortunes.

Pretending to be rich

Pretending to be poor

Assisting elaborately lit images of

Fame.

The man with the magic light box,

Carrying the women’s faces around

his neck.

Dirty and Heavy

A worn-out nylon ribbon suspends

The illusion

Of  you

And me

And New York City.

-Anastasia Frangoulis

xoxo

2 responses to “NYC

  1. I really enjoyed this poem. It’s very romantic, and almost anti-romantic at the same time. It speaks of the ghosts of lovers past and the interesting communication that sometimes occurs afterwards well 🙂

Leave a Reply

